European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC)

At the legal level, increased focus put on pan-European research infrastructures has led to the creation of a specific EU legal framework defining the principles for management and financing of such research infrastructures. This new type of the legal entity – ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium) – enables diverse and flexible models for the management of pan-European research infrastructures, including the use of tax exemptions on the side of the entities operating these research infrastructures (e.g. value added tax and/or excise duty tax exemptions). Countries and/or international organisations may become Members of an ERIC, as in the case of international organisations established under the public international law. At least 3 participating countries shall be founding Members of an ERIC when asking the European Commission (Directorate General for Research and Innovation) to establish it.

The Czech Republic is currently a Member State of the following ERIC legal entities:

  • BBMRI-ERIC (Bio-banking and Bio-molecular Resources Research Infrastructure),
  • CERIC-ERIC (Central European Research Infrastructure Consortium),
  • CESSDA ERIC (Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives),
  • CLARIN ERIC (Common Language Resources and Technology Infrastructure),
  • EATRIS-ERIC (European Infrastructure for Translational Medicine),
  • ECRIN-ERIC (European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network),
  • ESS ERIC (European Social Survey),
  • European Spallation Source-ERIC,
  • EU-OPENSCREEN ERIC (European Infrastructure of Open Screening Platforms for Chemical Biology),
  • ICOS ERIC (Integrated Carbon Observation System),
  • Instruct ERIC (European Integrated Structural Biology Infrastructure),
  • SHARE-ERIC (Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe).

In 2018/2019 following ERIC legal entities should be established with the membership of the Czech Republic as a founding Member State:

  • ELI-ERIC (Extreme Light Infrastructure),
  • Euro-BioImaging ERIC (European Research Infrastructure for Imaging Technologies in Biological and Biomedical Sciences).
Evropský spalační zdroj (ESS) v Lundu
European Spallation Source (ESS) in Lund